Vincent’s Awards

Vincent’s Club Awards

Awards Winners 2017

When marking the 150th Anniversary of the Club, one of the principal strategic objectives of the V150 campaign was:

“To celebrate a new millennium and an Olympic year, in accordance with its charitable status, the Club should have a role at the centre of Oxford sport, contributing to its governance, helping university sports bodies to encourage sportsmen and sportswomen to apply to Oxford and assisting in funding them.”

In keeping with this objective, in 2012 Vincent’s Appeal Trust Company (VATC – the Club’s corporate trustee) and the President and Committee of the Club agreed on a strategy for the future of the Club. A Vincent’s Sports Development Fund (SDF) was created to fund awards for outstanding scholar-athletes who also displayed leadership qualities and a willingness to participate in outreach activities.

Award Winners 2016

Award Winners 2015

The generosity of alumni members and friends made it possible for VATC and the Club to make 7 awards in 2014, the first year. The SDF endowment has continued to increase, thanks to further most welcome gifts. In 2015 it was possible to give four scholarships and five bursaries, ranging from £1,000 to £2,500 per annum.

That amount increased in 2016 to a total of £18,000. In 2017 a total of £17,000 has been awarded. The fund currently provides up to £3,500 for six named scholarships, which can be split between equally deserving candidates, plus some smaller awards.


The 2017 award winners were:

Vincent’s William S. Broadbent Jnr Scholarship

Claudia Havranek. Magdalen. Boxing. 

The Vincent’s Mark Lawrence Scholarship:

Isra Hale. St Anne’s. Boxing.

The Vincent’s Avery W. Broadbent Scholarship:

Conor Kearns. Somerville. Rugby Union.

The Geoff Riddell Vincent’s Scholarship for Team Sports:

Cian Wade. Green Templeton. Association Football.

The Vincent’s Fernside Scholarship for Athletics:

Lucy Farquhar. St Hugh’s. Triathlon.

Isabelle Scott. St John’s. Athletics.

The Adrian Mee Vincent’s Scholarship for Team Sports:

William Wilson. Keble. Rugby Union.

Vincent’s Award Winners: 

Sooraj Mahesh. St Peter’s. Rowing.

Rachel Wheatley. University. Judo/Boxing

Sophia Saller. Vincent’s Mark Lawrence Scholarship (2014-15) St Catherine’s. Triathlon

Sophia Saller. Vincent’s Mark Lawrence Scholarship (2014-15)
St Catherine’s. Triathlon

Eligibility and Selection

The Vincent’s Awards are open to all students and offer holders of Oxford University, contingent on them accepting their place.

Applications will be judged principally on the core values of the Vincent’s Awards:

  • Strong academic attainment coupled with sporting achievement and potential
  • Strength of character, fellowship and leadership potential
  • An interest in participation in broader activities, including outreach
  • A commitment to helping those less fortunate

An assessment of financial need is used to differentiate between candidates of equal strength.

The Selection Committee will have the final say on awards and their amounts: there will be no right of appeal and no amendment of an application unless the committee specifically requests it. The Selection Committee is composed of the following:

  • Adam Healy, (Chairman) former President of Vincent’s, Worcester
  • Melville Guest OBE, former President of Vincent’s, Magdalen
  • Andy Hobart, former President of Vincent’s, Exeter
  • Ronan Llyr, President of Vincent’s, Green Templeton College
  • Dr Emma Potts, Director of Student Administration, Oxford University
  • Robin Leonard, Head of Development – Sport. Oxford University
  • Laura Fenwick, President of Oxford University Sports Federation, LMH
  • Simon Offen, Secretary of the Committee, Christ Church

Submitting Your Application

Vincent’s Club is proud that the Vincent’s Awards constitute by some way the largest block of funding open to scholar-athletes practising any officially registered sport at Oxford University. Applications for the Vincent’s Awards for 2018-19 are now closed.

Any clarifications or questions may also be addressed to